Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What's wrong with other Linux distributions?

Beans

Thumbs down What's wrong with other Linux distributions?

Hi Everyone,
    So I want to start with a little background. I have been using Linux for ages, I mean some of you used it probably way longer than me,
    but I started playing with Suse Linux and Slackware about 1998, been using Suse Linux until probably 2008, I mean Suse Linux before OpenSuse became the thing and SLES.
    Over the years, had a romance with Mandrake, Corel Linux, Turbo Linux, Redhat, Fedora etc.

But now I don't know if it's only me, but I can't get rid of bloody Ubuntu, I hate the name, can't stand the color scheme, GNOME is totally useless,
    yet still it's always my distro of choice for last 8 years. When Centos went, I was zero bothered.

I even teached my kids how to use it, so they are not CLIphobic.

Is it just Linux overload, all of those fancy distros are just not as interesting as they used to be, I do not even tried Lubuntu and other ...buntus as the support is not that long.
    Do you guys find as well that distro hoping is not as enjoyable as it used to be, with all those VMs you can try 20 distros in a day...BORING!

Or I just got so old and grumpy?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Re: What's wrong with other Linux distributions?

I always upgrade with new LTS version, so the 3 yr life on Kubuntu is fine for me.

I started with Ubuntu, did not like Unity as I had old 3:4 monitor not newer wide screen and needed space on side.
    Converted to using the fallback gui. But then tried Kubuntu.
    Also found Kubuntu, while not lightweight, works on older system, particularly if on external SSD. Could not install Ubuntu on that system and Kubuntu installed, but old slow HDD was not as good as external SSD.
    UEFI boot install & repair info - Regularly Updated :
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295